The Outcast Girls Audiobook By Shirley Dickson cover art
The Outcast Girls Audiobook
$24.95 $4.99 Add to cart
Sale!

The Outcast Girls Audiobook

$4.99

-80%

by Shirley Dickson

  • Narrated by: Rosie Jones
  • Length: 10 hrs and 15 mins
  • Release date: 01-24-20
  • Language: English

Description

An utterly heartbreaking tale of two young girls, worlds apart, who are thrown together when they have lost everything. Fans of Wives of War, Before We Were Yours, and Diney Costeloe will absolutely love this poignant and moving World War Two novel.

England, 1937: After a devastating childhood at Blakely Hall Orphanage, 15-year-old Sandra is released. She finds work as a housemaid, finally able to put her past behind her. But the start of World War Two throws the country into turmoil, and her brother, Alf, is sent away to fight, leaving her completely alone.

Germany, 1939: Eleven-year-old Frieda is about to board a ship bound for England with her brother, Kurt. Life at home is perilous, with synagogues set alight and innocent lives lost to the Nazis. They have no choice but to flee, with only their identity cards and a small suitcase. But at the last moment, as Frieda stands on the deck crammed with frightened children, she spots her brother jumping off, back to land.

England, 1943: Joining the Land Army, Sandra is sent to a farm in the remote countryside where she meets evacuee Frieda. The girls are grappling with their own tragedies – Sandra fretting over whether Alf, flying a bomber in the heavens, will see tomorrow, and Frieda distraught that Kurt abandoned her, uncertain whether he is alive.

Sandra and Frieda form a friendship that sees them through the darkest of days, but in times of war, heartbreak is always just around the corner. Will the girls ever be reunited with their loved ones? And will the relationships they have fostered amidst the terror of war survive?

Additional information

Author

Shirley Dickson

Language

English

Length

10 hrs and 15 mins

Narrated by

Rosie Jones

Release date

01-24-20

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Outcast Girls Audiobook”