The Maltby Collection: The Complete Series 1-3 Audiobook By David Nobbs cover art
The Maltby Collection: The Complete Series 1-3 Audiobook
$28.35 $4.99 Add to cart

The Maltby Collection: The Complete Series 1-3 Audiobook



by David Nobbs

  • Narrated by: Geoffrey Palmer
  • Length: 8 hrs and 21 mins
  • Release date: 02-20-20
  • Language: English

All three series of David Nobbs’ museum-based sitcom, starring Julian Rhind-Tutt.

Rod Millet has always dreamed of working at the Maltby Collection, but on being appointed Deputy Curator of Painting and Sculpture, it quickly becomes clear that the son of a self-made biscuit mogul isn’t going to fit into the musty, insular world of London antiquities. But when, on his first day, Rod learns that the museum has been earmarked for closure, he starts a campaign to save it (threatening his boss Walter Brindle’s plans for a cushy early retirement).

With the collection’s future secured, the staff turn their energies towards romance. Rod competes with colleague Julian for the affections of the lovely Prunella, Walter makes a move on Susie Maltby and there are wedding bells for several members of the team – but heartbreak for another.

It’s time for the museum to get sexy, too, as Rod drags it out of the past and towards a more modern future, with innovations such as Sunday opening (which does not run smoothly) and a children’s day (where the dog-counting competition gets a little out of hand). Director Walter also has his hands full, with warring curators, cleaners causing controversy, a dodgy alarm system and the prospect of making cuts – who will be for the chop?

Created by comic genius David Nobbs, of Reginald Perrin fame, this warm, good-natured comedy stars Julian Rhind-Tutt as Rod, with Geoffrey Palmer as Walter, Ben Willbond as Julian, Rachel Atkins as Prunella and Margaret Cabourn-Smith as Susie. Guest stars include Hugh Dennis, Barry Cryer and Stephen K Amos.

Additional information


David Nobbs




8 hrs and 21 mins

Narrated by

Geoffrey Palmer, Julian Rhind-Tutt

Release date



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Maltby Collection: The Complete Series 1-3 Audiobook”