The Free World audiobook cover art
The Free World Audiobook
$19.60 $4.99 Add to cart

The Free World Audiobook



by David Bezmozgis

  • Narrated by: Stefan Rudnicki
  • Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
  • Release date: 03-29-11
  • Language: English

Summer 1978. Brezhnev sits like a stone in the Kremlin, Israel and Egypt are inching towards peace, and in the bustling, polyglot streets of Rome, strange new creatures have appeared: Soviet Jews who have escaped to freedom through a crack in the Iron Curtain.

Among the thousands who have landed in Italy to secure visas for new lives in the West are the members of the Krasnansky family – three generations of Russian Jews. There is Samuil, an old Communist and Red Army veteran, who reluctantly leaves the country to which he has dedicated himself body and soul; Karl, his elder son, a man eager to embrace the opportunities emigration affords; Alec, his younger son, a carefree playboy for whom life has always been a game; and Polina, Alec’s new wife, who has risked the most by breaking with her old family to join this new one.

Together, they will spend six months in Rome – their way station and purgatory. They will immerse themselves in the carnival of emigration, in an Italy rife with love affairs and ruthless hustles, with dislocation and nostalgia, with the promise and peril of a better life.

Through the unforgettable Krasnansky family, David Bezmozgis has created an intimate portrait of a tumultuous era. Written in precise, musical prose, The Free World is a stunning debut novel, a heartfelt multigenerational saga of great historical scope and even greater human debth. Enlarging on the themes of aspiration and exile that infused his critically acclaimed first collection, Natasha and Other Stories, The Free World establishes Bezmozgis as one of our most mature and accomplished storytellers.

Additional information



Release date



9 hrs and 45 mins

Narrated by

Stefan Rudnicki


David Bezmozgis


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Free World Audiobook”