Protest and Power audiobook cover art
Protest and Power Audiobook
$21.81 $4.99 Add to cart

Protest and Power Audiobook



by David Kogan

  • Narrated by: Rupert Farley
  • Length: 17 hrs and 23 mins
  • Release date: 10-14-19
  • Language: English

Bloomsbury presents Protest and Power by David Kogan, read by Rupert Farley. 

The battle for the Labour party is dramatic and intense. This is its definitive history. Labour has shifted from the New Left, to New Labour, to Corbynista Labour. 

Now, it may see power again with a most unlikely group of activists from the 1970s becoming the fourth generation to win power since 1945.   

Only Clement Attlee, Harold Wilson and Tony Blair have won power from a sitting Conservative government. Of the 10 general elections since 1979, Labour has won three, all under Blair. This record of failure, if applied to any other walk of life, would raise the fundamental question of why continue to fight a losing battle? 

For Labour, it asks whether it is a party of protest – designed only to be a voice from opposition, commenting on the flaws and falsities of Conservative police – or a party of power?  

Including exclusive interviews with key party members from the 1970s to today including Neil Kinnock, Tony Blair, Ed Miliband and Jon Lansman; and the party’s recent struggles with antisemitism and Brexit, this book chronicles the conflicts within the Labour party, the schisms between ideologues and pragmatists, and how these fissures seem destined to keep Labour in opposition.

Additional information


David Kogan

Narrated by

Rupert Farley


17 hrs and 23 mins

Release date





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Protest and Power Audiobook”

listen audiobook