Dangerous Melodies Audiobook By Jonathan Rosenberg cover art
Dangerous Melodies Audiobook
$27.97 Original price was: $27.97.$4.99Current price is: $4.99. Add to cart

Dangerous Melodies Audiobook

Original price was: $27.97.Current price is: $4.99.


by Jonathan Rosenberg

  • Narrated by: Chris Henry Coffey
  • Length: 15 hrs and 55 mins
  • Release date: 12-10-19
  • Language: English

A Juilliard-trained musician and professor of history explores the fascinating entanglement of classical music with American foreign relations.

Dangerous Melodies vividly evokes a time when classical music stood at the center of American life, occupying a prominent place in the nation’s culture and politics. The work of renowned conductors, instrumentalists, and singers – and the activities of orchestras and opera companies – were intertwined with momentous international events: two world wars, the rise of fascism, and the Cold War.

Jonathan Rosenberg recovers the politics behind classical music, showing how German musicians were dismissed or imprisoned as the country’s music was swept from American auditoriums during World War I – yet, 20 years later, those same compositions could inspire Americans in the fight against Nazism while Russian music was deployed to strengthen the US-Soviet alliance. During the Cold War, Van Cliburn’s triumph in the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow became cause for America to celebrate. In Dangerous Melodies, Rosenberg delves into the singular decades-long relationship of classical music and political ideology in America.

Additional information


Jonathan Rosenberg




15 hrs and 55 mins

Narrated by

Chris Henry Coffey

Release date



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Dangerous Melodies Audiobook”