Chernobyl audiobook cover art
Chernobyl Audiobook
$29.95 Original price was: $29.95.$4.99Current price is: $4.99. Add to cart

Chernobyl Audiobook

Original price was: $29.95.Current price is: $4.99.


by Serhii Plokhy

  • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
  • Length: 14 hrs and 52 mins
  • Release date: 05-15-18
  • Language: English

From a preeminent historian of Eastern Europe, the definitive history of the Chernobyl nuclear disaster 

On the morning of April 26, 1986, Europe witnessed the worst nuclear disaster in history: the explosion of a reactor at the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant in Soviet Ukraine. Dozens died of radiation poisoning, fallout contaminated half the continent, and thousands fell ill. 

In Chernobyl, Serhii Plokhy draws on new sources to tell the dramatic stories of the firefighters, scientists, and soldiers who heroically extinguished the nuclear inferno. He lays bare the flaws of the Soviet nuclear industry, tracing the disaster to the authoritarian character of Communist party rule, the regime’s control of scientific information, and its emphasis on economic development over all else. 

Today, the risk of another Chernobyl looms in the mismanagement of nuclear power in the developing world. A moving and definitive account, Chernobyl is also an urgent call to action.

Additional information


Serhii Plokhy

Narrated by

Ralph Lister


14 hrs and 52 mins

Release date





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Chernobyl Audiobook”